We are your voice!

Aalto  University 

Aalto University has various doctoral student representative bodies across different levels of management, dedicated to discussing doctoral education, strategy and wellbeing. You can learn more about them here.

Aalto Management Team  (AMT)

The AMT consists of the members of the President’s Management Team (PMT), the Chair of the Professors’ Council, representatives from the Aalto University Student Union (AYY), Aalto University Doctoral Researchers Association (Aallonhuiput), employee organisations, as well as Aalto University Campus and Real Estate (ACRE). It convenes once between the meetings of the Aalto University Foundation Board focusing on the agenda items and decision made during the board meetings. The aim of the AMT is to enhance transparency and open dialogue in university development decision-making, fostering a sense of community commitment ot joint decisions. President Ilkka Niemelä serves as the chair of AMT, with Pirjo Peippo-Lavikka acting as secretary.


Consulting for Aalto University Foundation Board (AUFB)

The Aalto University Foundation Board (AUFB) is responsible for deciding on strategy, operations, and financial matters, as well as any far-reaching plans.

Twice a year, Aallonhuiput and AYY hold meetings with board members to address topics related to student and research life at Aalto.


Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Committee

EDI Committee decides on needed Equality, Diversity & Inclusion actions and their implementation, and outlines the EDI plan for a three year period. Committee reviews activities and follows up of action plans. 


Research Steering Group (ReSG)

The Research Steering Group (ReSG) handles operational research and innovation matters that necessitate university-wide input, policies, or recommendations. ReSG boosts collaboration and the exchange of best practices among the schools at the university level.

ReSG is tasked with the following responsibilities: 

1) Preparing and discussing matters that are decided by the Vice President for Research or Vice President for Innovation or matters that are decided by other Aalto University bodies. 2) Offering academic guidance for services that facilitate research and innovation. 3) Acting as a conduit for communication, conveying messages to schools,  Aalto management, staff and students. 4) Facilitating the exchange of best practices among the schools and engaging in discussions regarding strategic initiatives between schools.


Doctoral Education Working Group (DEWG)

The President has appointed the Aalto University Doctoral Education Working Group, tasked with developing the university's doctoral education, addressing mutual issues related to doctoral education, and preparing university guidelines.


Doctoral Programme Committees (DPCs)

The doctoral programme committees shall 1) develop the content of the doctoral programmes and the joint studies offered by the school; 2) put forth proposals to the school academic committee on the fields of research in doctoral programmes; 3) prepare proposals for the dean on admission of doctoral students; 4) appoint the preliminary examiners of dissertations and decide on the permission for public defense of dissertations; 5) appoint the opponents for doctoral dissertations; 6) evaluate the dissertations; 7) appoint the examiners of licentiate theses; 8) evaluate licentiate theses; and 9) perform other duties assigned to it by the dean or in the degree regulations.

In addition, the doctoral programme committees shall, unless it has assigned the chair to decide on any of the matters: 1) appoint a supervising professor and advisor(s) for the doctoral student; 2) decide on the degree language of the doctoral student and on the topic and language of the licentiate or doctoral degree; 3) confirm the study plans of doctoral students; 4) decide on the time and language of the of public examination of the doctoral dissertation and appoint the custos for it.

SCI Doctoral Programme Committee Representatives:

ELEC Doctoral Programme Committee Representatives:

ARTS Doctoral Programme Committee Representatives:

ENG Doctoral Programme Committee Representatives:

CHEM Doctoral Programme Committee Representatives:

BIZ Doctoral Programme Committee Representatives:

Student Union (AYY)

AYY is an advocacy and service organisation for approximately 17,000 students of Aalto University. As all doctoral researchers are eligible to receive study rights, Aallonhuiput is also representing you in some of their committees and working groups. 


AYY wants to keep up to date with its members. For this a monthly meeting AYY invites the chairs of all guilds from all schools as well as Aallonhuiput. It is a very active working group, that also represents students to other universities in Finland.